Metal invites

I want to make metal invites on my pro for our wedding party. I would like them to be useful. So, with edges that fold up so could be used for a tealight holder. I am very new to Glowforge! I am not sure what thickness of blank to use to cut & engrave. Are some metals better/easier than others? I would really appreciate your help. This is for personal use.
Have a lovely day & stay safe x
Louis

The Glowforge cannot engrave or cut metal.

4 Likes

You can buy coated (anodized) aluminum products that will engrave. Or, you can use a marking solution like Cermark Ultra and engrave over that. Cutting is not possible.

3 Likes

Glowforge can etch some metals, like anodized aluminum, directly. Other metals, like stainless steel, work best if you spray them first with a product such as Cermark. Taken from the Glowforge site. I wondered if anyone had tried & how they got on.

1 Like

Thanks @Tek104 , have you tried?

1 Like

There are many, many discussions of using the Glowforge to mark metal, here in the forum. I have personal experience with CerMark and anodized aluminum. The search function in this forum is your very best friend.
https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=CerMark
https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=anodized%20aluminum

4 Likes

I haven’t tried anodized aluminum, but I hear it works well. I do use Cermark Ultra on aluminum and it works great.

1 Like

Dry moly lube has been amazing for me for engraving on stainless​:+1::+1: I have a tool I use daily and it gets rubbed, etc and has not come off yet…or even faded yet…it’s been over a year since it was done​:crossed_fingers::crossed_fingers::crossed_fingers:

1 Like

To be clear, no 40W CO2 laser can cut metal - you need like 150W+ to even begin to.

2 Likes