Miniature printer tray display box

Does anyone have a file for a miniature printer tray style display box? I would be willing to pay. Below is an example of the type of thing I am looking for. Thank you, any help is appreciated!

9 Likes

This would seem to be a pretty simple thing to do, if you know your way around vector software.

Are you proficient with inkscape or illustrator or anything? This is really just a 20-ish minute project, even for someone who is not expert at it.

I’m sure we can get you going in the right direction if you don’t feel like you quite have the skills yet, the forum loves to help people level up.

7 Likes

This category of the forum is for posting files for others to use - not for requesting files (which is against forum rules). I will move your post to Everything Else.

3 Likes

Thank you!

Hello, thanks for the reply! I am a beginner at Inkscape but currently struggling a bit with it. I still do not really understand how to execute this type of design.

Hang on a second and I’ll make a quick tutorial about how I’d do it.

5 Likes

OK so it’s going to seem complicated, but really this is just using the same few skills over and over.

Things you’ll want to know about:

1. Importing an image
    1. Clones
    1. Snap alignment
    1. Boolean actions (union and exclusion in particular)
    1. Combine/break apart path (semi optional)

Here goes, let’s essentially copy this design… you can use the skills you pick up here to make your own custom layout, but this is a good start:

Start with a new SVG and drag the image into your workspace:

Now let’s start tracing the boxes by drawing rectangles on them (in red for easy visibility):

You an see how this is repetitive, so let’s use clones to make changing things a little easier later (trust me). I pull the original rectangles we just drew off to the side, and clone them (edit->clone->create clone)