Misalignment, angled prints

Hello there! I am fairly new to the Glowforge, I have only had it about a month. Most of my prior experience comes from a Universal Laser branded laser cutter.

My glowforge has had some problem recently with things that I cut not lining up with the camera which appears to be a common problem after searching the forums, I have tried the camera calibration to no avail.

The camera placement is a highly needed feature for me because I am lining up my files to a certain item. For example, I laser engraved a name on to the handle of a wooden spatula, even though it was lined up withing the GUI when it engraved the name was running way off the spatula.

I am attaching an example of the post bed image for a file that one of my student’s cut. You can see where the image was supposed to line up versus where it cut.

I have also noticed that in addition to the camera misalignment, my files seem to be engraving/cutting and an uphill angle. For example, the test celebration, notice the bottom left is way close to the edge of the draft board than the bottom right side is. The crumb tray and draft board are positioned correctly and it is still printing at this angle.

Below is my calibration results from the latest time I tried to calibrate, it’s more accurate but if I try to cut a square it still comes out sloped.

Can anyone provide me with some guidance for improving this further?

The uphill angle thing you’ll want to make sure your gantry is square. I don’t have the link for doing that but just search the forum for squaring the ganty and you should find the procedure. Looks like it might be the issue.

4 Likes

Here is the link @kanati suggested for you: https://glowforge.com/support/topic/troubleshooting/perfect-squares

4 Likes

Thank you both! I will try this tomorrow and update again and close the thread if that solves the problem!