Updated: Natural Rubber Engraved Initials Stamp and Hallmark

I got a sheet of low odor rubber from Laserbits (along with a few other types of materials that await testing). I have no experience making rubber stamps other than taking big rubber bands in junior high and using an ink pen to write my name backwards on to make a quick stamp for wasting time in math class.

@dan requests that I do projects as separate posts so that they are more easily tracked and studied by everyone; however, I’ll just stick an update and another example of a stamp here while I can still edit since this stamp is pretty much an extension of the first one but with a standard handle. I used 50% power 335 in/min and 675 lpi. Took about seven minutes for this 1/2" by 2" stamp.

Here is the final result after making a stamp handle tonight.

I do use a rubber stamp every day as I go through the parish’s bills and approve payment. I write my initials and date on each and that’s that. I’ll probably keep using the pen to do my initials but I have made some digitized files through the years of my signature and my initials for various and sundry reasons, so I had the initials ready.

I put the 12x12 sheet of rubber in, it’s about .02 inches thick. I had read the Laserbits tech specs on natural rubber and was surprised at how much power it took to engrave and cut, So I made an image reverse image bitmap of the cutaway of the initials and imported it into the user workspace and set it for 50% power and 20 in/min feed. I stopped it about a minute into the engrave because it looked like it was bubbling up and I couldn’t see what was going on. Definitely should have taken a screen shot of my settings for documentation, but I think I did 450 lines per inch.

It turns out that the rubber turns into ash and that accumulates on the surface. The settings were correct for the depth I wanted to etch away and so I did the whole engrave.