Need help with converting a design to engrave

Hello All,

Hope everyone is have a great Easter weekend. Not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but Im needed some help. I’m a newbie and have a Glowforge Pro. I have been learning Inkscape but having a hard time finding a good enough image to engrave after tracing and separating the scans. Can someone please help me out. Thank you.

What are you planning to engrave on?

eflyguy,

Thank you for your relpy.

I will be using poplar hardwood stained. I will mask off the wood before engraving. Will also take out the crumb tray so i can use the 3/4 thickness.

Are you planning to stain in color individually for each area, or the whole piece?

The reason I ask, there is very little contrast between the colors on the right side (target/background/outline). This doesn’t translate well to engraving on wood, but if you are going to effectively “paint” each area, you need more of an outline (like a cartoon) - which would work well and be pretty easy to create.

The left side, plus the text on the banners, will work fine either way, because they are pretty high contrast.

eflyguy,

I don’t think i explained it the way i should have. Im pre-staining the wood. Then I will mask off the wood for engraving.

Got it.

Yeah, goes back to what I was saying about contrast. This is very rough approximation, but without some color/shading modification, the design won’t work well on wood.

You would get much better results by fiddling with the settings to give more of an outlined design, like this:

Ultimately, it’s a pretty simple design and wouldn’t take long to trace by hand so you could have sharp, dark score lines for the details, and use shading for the large areas.

2 Likes

Here’s a basic centerline trace you could use as a starting point… Although looking at the results, I think it would be quicker to trace by hand than trying to clean up this one.

drawing-5

1 Like