Need help with the practice key chains?

I printed off 4 keychains in the learning area. Then I figured out how to upload files to engrave names on them from adobe illustrator and printed one of those. I only wanted the house shape so I deleted the others from the board. Did I PERMANENTLY delete them? I can’t find them now that I have an order to print 6 more. Please help me understand what I did wrong…and how to get the images of the key chains back…
Never mind, I think I figured it out. I went to the settings and clicked reset this design!

4 Likes

Yeah, the UI saves files in their last configuration, so you can drag them off the bed image to keep them in the file. :+1:

2 Likes

Sorry but I am truly a novice here. What does UI stand for please? :blush:

2 Likes

UI = User Interface.
GFUI = Glowforge User Interface.

There’s a whole list of acronyms on here somewhere…I’ll post it if I can find it and nobody else beats me to it. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

4 Likes

That would be great…lol. Its my first day trying to print. I’m still trying to figure out why my second keychain did not engrave like the first one. I enlarged it to fit the name on it. Would that alter the depth of the engraving?

…it’s a wiki so anyone can edit…there are some less-than-:glowforge:-specific ones there too!

4 Likes

No, enlarging shouldn’t have changed how the engraving looked, just how long it took.

1 Like

well it was the preset program on here so I didn’t change any of the numbers??? hmmm?? a few of the letters barely even cut at all

thank you!

If you’re seeing numbers you must have clicked through out of the PG settings - and sometimes (for safety’s sake) they then revert to a 1 power.
If you’re using PG settings you’ll see only words (Engrave/Cut/Score) and the settings haven’t changed…but if you’re not using PG materials there can definitely be variations there!

5 Likes