New Glowforge owner and have questions

Hey everyone I’m new at laser work and the Glowforge, and a few questions. Wanting to make Delrin stamps to press into leather, but that material isn’t listed on the pull tab. Just wanting to know setting for engraving into Delrin?
Second question is I tried to engrave into Aluminum but did not penetrate the stock. What am I doing wrong? Would be doing dog tags, aluminum lettering plaques, and brass lettering plaques.
And last question would be cutting into leather, what settings for this and not burning leather on edges?
Thank you all for excepting me in this tight community, and would appreciate any insight.

2 Likes

For delrin settings looking here would be a good place to start
https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=Delrin%20settings

For the second question you machine cannot engrave metals, you can only mark onto them with products like Carmark or coat them and remove the coating with the laser. There are some instances where you can mark directly onto stainless steel but I have not done this myself and it does not take any material away.

For the leather you will need to run a material test of some sort to find the most ideal settings for you.
Here is one that was posted to the forum.

Do you have a photo of the kind of burning you are trying to avoid?

7 Likes

The laser cuts by burning, You can go very fast or lower power but it will not cut so much either. By doing multiple tests on leather you have you can get to a point you are ok with, and you might clean the leather in ways that you know better than myself not being a leather worker.

Delrin is tricky. I made a leather stamp for a customer and had to make many light passes as it melted very easily but it can be done…

1 Like

Since you’re new you might like this:

We’re lookIng forward to seeing what you make. :slight_smile:

4 Likes