Newbie here

Good afternoon everyone.

A couple questions

1. what plywood from a Home Depot or Lowe’s type store works good in the glowforge?

2. has anyone ever used old pallet wood in their glowforge

Thanks

2 Likes

1: none, particularly. You’re after “Baltic birch” if you can get it, and it’s much less expensive to find locally.

Try searching for “Baltic source”, (or “[whatever] source”), you’ll get all sorts of pointers.

2: not that I’ve seen, but I’m sure they’d engrave nicely. The only thing I’d be careful of is that generally pallets are treated with lots of chemicals, anti rot and pesticide stuff. I’d be sure your ventilation is really airtight before working on pallet wood.

5 Likes

As the other Evans said, Baltic Birch is your best bet but is often not available locally. I have cut a fair amount of home store wood, look for good solid cores for your best results. Always check the actual thickness as what the wall says is almost always way off. I’ve had 1/4" run anywhere from 0.190 to 0.255".

3 Likes

I use the 1/8" stuff from Lowes quite often. Even their cheapest. You can get voids and glue spots that make it a challenge to get through but it works. Lot of it depends on the core.

I have used from a local hardwood supplier both Baltic and Cherry, at awesome deals 8’ x 4’ for under $20 a sheet and then take a circular saw to properly size it for the Glowforge 24 panels per each sheet.
I have only used the stuff they have at Home Depot once. and had nothing but problems with it with voids and glue spots all through the inner core.

look around for local lumber yards or small lumber dealers. they can be a good source for baltic birch and often some interesting exotic woods.

1 Like