Newbie Question: how to fix Too Tight joints

Ok I am very new to this…Please forgive if this has been asked…(I swear I searched for 15 min to see if I could find the answer) I printed the Transport Caddy from the catalog on medium Maple plywood and the joints are so tight I cannot get them to fit. Is there an easy way to fix this with the pieces I have cut? Sanding??? Or do I need to go in and change the design? I Have only done catalog things so far and most have fit great. The Santa Compass from the catalog that I did has the same issue and I gave up on that one and chalked it up to “User Error” .
Thank you so much… any help appreciated!!

2 Likes

If you want to use the parts you have cut, then you need to sand or file to get them to fit.

A cheap needle-file set comes in handy.

8 Likes

I have used sandpaper, a needle file, or even a nail file to ease the corners where they go together. That way the parts are lined up and with pressure, they will slide by each other rather than crush the parts.
Then I use clamps to push as you have far more control than something like a leather hammer.

1 Like

I have had both success and failure with the following methods for overly tight joints.

use a bench vise to squeeze the joint together after aligning it as best you can by hand.

use a light hammer to pound the joint together after aligning it as best you can by hand. bonus points for protecting the material with a rag. I use the hammer method with baltic birch more often than I care to admit, It works well most of the time and mangles the joint on rare occasions.
The silver lining is that the joint will be tight and not likely to need glue.

2 Likes

For next time you can run a small test piece to see if the joints will fit before you run the whole thing - and if you find they’re just a bit too tight, running the cut a second time frequently gets you the extra space you need without need of a file :slight_smile: