Newbie questions about using iPhone to operate Glowforge

Hi, I just received my Glowforge a couple days ago. I’m trying to do the gift tag that it tells you to create on the manual. It tells you to use Inkscape, but I’m just using my iPhone and all I have found that is similar to Inkscape is Vectornator. I created a gift tag, but I cannot upload to the Glowforge. I’m not very tech savvy so this has been very hard for me to figure out. I tried to just use a screen shot of the gift tag I created and after I uploaded it, I couldn’t see the layers of it to where I can set the settings for scoring and cutting. I’m feeling completely defeated. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

You are going to need a graphics program like Inkscape, Affinity Design of Adobe Illustrator to create files that are complex. Using just an iPhone, you should be able to create something just in the interface. Open the app. Click “Create” choose new design. Click the circle tool and create the three circles it describes in the tutorial. Click the text tool. Choose a font and type what you want on the circular gift tag. You will probably want the text engraved. When you have the text and circles arranged the way you want, you should be able to choose the cut/score/engrave operations separately on the left side. Click print, push the button when it flashes and you should have created something.

Did you print the Gift of Good Measure already?

I am sorry you are feeling defeated - soon you will be creating and having fun. There are lots of helpful people here in the forum that will help you through this initial period of feeling overwhelmed.

4 Likes

There are a couple of owners here that use a tablet to design and print, one of them should be along to provide some guidance.

I’ve moved this to an appropriate forum - Problems and Support is for opening tickets with Glowforge support staff.

1 Like