Not cutting right

So I am still really new to this so be patient with me. I have been cutting several of the same item for some orders I have. On some of my plywood everything comes out great. But on two different pieces things took a turn for the worse. My cut is no longer cutting right. It cuts through, but I have to force apart the pieces that are cut away. And instead of having that nice fresh cut smell it smells like a dirty old ashtray. I thought maybe my speed was a little high so I slowed it down a bit. Didn’t help. The plywood doesn’t look to be bad in an way. It’s the same species from the same manufacturer. I am using the same file and settings. I had a small piece left from the other board so I tried it out and it is cutting fine still. What am I missing?

Sounds like you’re not using Proofgrade or another brand of plywood specifically meant for laser cutting? Other plywoods can have glues, fillers or other inconsistencies that can make for a rough laser experience.

3 Likes

It came from Smokey hills design.

You state that a piece left from a previous board was fine, so I’m thinking it is the material. Wood is a variable, natural item with some glue and filler thrown in for good measure in plywood. You may have to adjust your speed/power.

When things don’t cut as planned, or as they have in the past, perform the basics. Clean all optics - including the side window. Clean all the fans - exhaust, printhead and air assist, make sure the material is pinned absolutely flat. Use the set focus tool. Make sure the honeycomb tray is properly seated. Make a small, test cut before doing your entire project.

3 Likes

I’d suggest you ask them about your specific material then. It might be an issue they’ve either seen before or would want to be aware of, definitely sounds like an aberrant material and not a machine settings case.

2 Likes