Not cutting through material

Hi! I’m new to all of this, and this may be an easy fix: I can’t get my GF to cut through my material (leather). It is not pg, but I think I’m putting in the correct settings… I’ve set the material thickness to .25(my material is not quite 1/4 inch), 250 speed, full power, 2 passes (I’ve tried a variety of other combinations but this seems to be the closest) and it won’t cut through my material. Any suggestions? Do I need to change the material thickness? Thanks!!

I’m going to shift this to the Beyond the Manual category so I can give you some suggestions - support can’t answer questions about non-Proofgrade materials.

Quarter inch thick leather is going to be tough to try to get through. The thickest I’ve tried to cut was only about half that thick, so you’re on the right track with multiple passes.

I would slow the speed down by about 25 points, keep the same power and two passes and see if it cuts all the way through.

If not, add a third pass before trying to reduce the speed any further.

3 Likes

Jules is spot-on here, but I’ll add that you’ll want to enter the most accurate thickness possible for any material to aid in placement/location – very small errors can translate into large placement differences. A set of digital calipers will help tremendously.

2 Likes

A lot depends on the leather. I made a dog collar from Tandy Latigo leather that was .160”. On full power, it made a mess. I ended up doing 2 passes at 180/100 speed and then flipped it over and did 2 more passes of the same settings to get a clean cut through (I made a jig)

2 Likes

thanks for the quick responses! I’ll try give it a try :slight_smile:

1 Like

…any other thoughts? I’ve tried the calipers (.20) and slowed down the speed. It is so close to cutting through (I can tear it but of course I’m wanting a clean cut). The best luck I’ve had is with 200/full power and 2 passes. Is it just too thick?

1 Like

Why not do 3 passes?

2 Likes