Old age

29 Likes

I used to put 1900 for my birth year whenever signing up for stuff…some places won’t let me do that now, it’s an option, but it errors out

8 Likes

Guess they figure nobody on earth is 121 years old.

“You know your old when you go to bed fine and wake up injured.”

It’s really weird being the same age as old people… :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

19 Likes

Went to the doctor today - first time in a long, long time. I had to draw the clock, remember the words and discuss my falls. Old used to be a lot older.

10 Likes

The first time I felt old was when I went into a Shakey’s Pizza Parlor and I saw the date on the “you must have been born before this date” sign in order to buy beer… and the date was after I graduated from high school. It was a rude awakening, lol!

6 Likes

My first realization was at a paintball party for my son’s friend, so all the boys had their dad in tow. the outdoor area had different topographies set up, and after completing one the group would move to the next one.
A man assigned to our group would describe the surroundings, and each time he would add “You older guys just hang back here with me.” Like the third time we changed battlegrounds and he said that I noticed he was looking at me.
I hadn’t thought about it, but I surveyed the group of dads - and I realized I was the oldest man there. :no_mouth:

Well, I have always been competitive. In Bootcamp, I ran the second-fastest time ever recorded on the obstacle course. I restrained myself from challenging the guide to a little one on one, but we all had a great time. At one point I was exposed and ran for cover, diving into a trench at a dead run. I think I broke a couple of ribs. If it had been live ammunition that was the right move, but not paintballs. :roll_eyes:

11 Likes

Ouch! When I was in the army, my mantra was, if the minimums weren’t good enough, they wouldn’t be the minimums.