Other reliable units

Have been a glowforge owner for a little over a year. My first one worked great up until right before the warranty period. It was replaced with a refurbished unit and that worked great for about a month, until now i’m met with the orange button of failure and of course now i’m out of my warranty period.

Anyways, I love the glowforge when it works, the ease of use & cloud. I have a small business and whenever this stuff happens it really puts me in a tough spot. I did consider two glowforges… and that’s still a possibility…but just wondering if any one else has experience with other laser machines that have better build quality and reliability.(no more than 10G)

Thanks!

As a fellow small business owner, I hope that you look into a backup plan. You bought a hobby level machine for a business. Without a backup plan, you are going to be in tough spots eventually. The reason that the business-class units are much more expensive is that they are built to a higher performance and reliability level and have service to match. The Glowforge is really only set up for people who are going to use it for hobbies or casual use. Businesses who rely on this machine will be best served to have some type of backup plan in place.

1 Like

When I added laser engraving to the business, I was not in a situation to have two nor was the demand there for justify it. Things have changed. I do notice that they changed the wording on the products. At the time when I bought the ‘plus’ it said upgraded components and enhanced cooling. Seems they moved the vast majority of that wording to the pro. Is the pro much different than the plus it terms of build quality?

I agree, as I said before, I definitely need a back up plan. I just didn’t expect it to be so early in the glowforges life.

The build quality is the same for all units. The Pro just has different capabilities.