Paradise Intermediate School, Camp Fire survivors, Glowforge on the way!

Hello all,

My name is Greg Holman and I am a teacher at Paradise Intermediate School in California. Most of you are likely aware of the wildfire that swept through our town in November. My science room (as well as most of the rest of the 6th grade classrooms burned.

We are starting school again next week in a nearby town at an old OSH building. We have ordered a Glowforge Plus as part of their education program. Hoping to hear some items folks have made that would likely be high interest and easy to do as first projects for 12 year olds. Several students are very interested in turning their original art into laser cut wood wall art.

All suggestions appreciated!

12 Likes

Great that your students will have access to a GlowForge.

Here is a California framework file of the state and county boundaries, a little geography, political science and laser burning all rolled into one project. Might need a little vector editing too.

Have fun! The country has all of you in their thoughts!

California-County Borders-Framework.svg.zip (25.4 KB)

12 Likes

That was really cool of you, @timtsuga! :star_struck:

3 Likes

Thanks so much timtuga!

Tell me if you need any map data of California. I have a ton of data; roads, streams political boundaries, digital elevation models. As your students get more sophisticated or your projects more complex, if you need more data just ask, or I can send other thematic layers.

Thanks!
Tim

5 Likes

Just an FYI, everyone here is already either an owner or has access to a GF via the aforementioned owners. While some may be thinking of purchasing, we’ve been asked by @dan to not post our referral codes here.

Good luck in your efforts though.

4 Likes

The Tehama County Department of Education MakerSpace has a Glowforge. You might want to contact them to see what experiences/projects they are using with theirs.