PLEASE HELPPPP-tried everything, moves as if it's cutting or engraving but nothing is happening!

My glowforge was working fine and then all of a sudden just stopped working properly. It moves as if its cutting/engraving but does nothing. Ive read and tried all the troubleshooting without success. Checked the settings, cleaned the lens, mirrors, etc. Still not working! My glowforge basic is a little over a year old so I know the warranty is gone…what are my options? Please helpppppppp

1 Like

Just to double check…your power settings didn’t get pushed back to one right? Have you tried to print the gift of good measure?

1 Like

yes to both without success…

1 Like

Ugh. Support will be along shortly. Good luck!

1 Like

I am not very good at the mechanical part but I will try to help you out.

Did you put your laser head lens in upside down? Now I need for you to answer the next question honestly. When was the last time you thoroughly cleaned the machine? Three months ago six months ago, etc.

1 Like

no, dont think the lens is upside down and honestly , prior to last night it has been a couple months since a thorough cleaning

2 Likes

This lady has a great section on problems that can happen with your GF and how to fix them

ok thanks

1 Like

One other thing check that the ribbon cable is securely attached to the laser head.

I know this is very nerve rattling I have been here many times. Support will reach out to you.

I did, thanks so much for your help though…I appreciate it! and yes, so frustrating!!!

1 Like

The first 6months of ownership my GF had me in tears every other week. We get nervous because these machines are very expensive.
If I would’ve paid $10 for the machine I would not have been crying.

This is very important . Do not start another support ticket. This only slows up the process. GlowForge support is great they will be contacting you and they will want to read the logs of your machine.