Porsche emblem

Has anyone been able to print Porsche emblem on Glowforge? Every logo I try either won’t engrave or cut. Any advice/help is welcomed. Thanks.

1 Like

Welcome to the community!

I can point you to some recommended reading

You need a vector to cut and a raster (Bitmap) to engrave. Which design software are you using?
Are you tracing the image?

I use adobe illustrator, I am finding many files I’ve purchased or found free are made in inkscape (which is free) so as soon as I open it I am supposed to save it as an .ai file for a backup.

One thing I have learned by doing is to seperate in layers the operations I need to perform in the order I want them done. This helps me line up my cuts by ignoring all layers and putting the cut to 300speed @1power I get lines and I move the file as needed.
I am still learning. Any logo and especially one as complex as porche (isn’t that a crest w/ 4 separate panels) would need to be created into engrave, etch, cut layers. At least I would do that and I tent to make seperate layers more often so I can leave a portion out of some cuts.

Thank you. I will try what you have suggested.

Tracy Payne

I haven’t tried tracing the emblem. So, I have to create 2 different files…one for engraving and one for cutting?

No. Both can/should be in the same file. Just make sure whatever you want to cut is a vector and whatever you want to engrave is a bitmap. You can have 2 separate files, but it’s a lot easier to manage your process if they’re part of the same file.

Not necessarily made in inkscape, but SVG is a standard transfer protocol that is open source so any mixed vector and graphic software can read. AI is Adobe specific and will include things that would not necessarily transfer and complexities that are just annoying when they do even when it can be read, and not everything can read it.