Pre-Release | A Novice Tries Engraving

I received a pre-release unit about 2.5 weeks ago. Since then, I’ve given myself a crash course in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop (a complete novice in both).

Seeing awesome engraves in the forum, I decided to try engraving too. After learning how to tweak settings in both Illustrator and Photoshop, I was able to print the item below. It is a picture of a good friend, a local musician.

The engrave is printed on Proofgrade maple plywood. I believe the print took about 1 hour. I simply cannot believe what I can produce with the Glowforge.

98 Likes

Great job and congrats on the pre-release unit.

9 Likes

Great novicing. I just invented that word.

18 Likes

Wow, I really like that.

11 Likes

That came out great!

7 Likes

Looks awesome Rebecca! I’ll bet he loves it! :smiley:

8 Likes

yay!

9 Likes

See rebecca’s glowforge awesomeness. Think I need to check my spam filter just in case. Elation: the junk folder has 6 new messages. 5 are discourse replies from this board (I really need to white list discourse replies) and one is true spam. Deflated.

13 Likes

So awesome! I think I need to give myself a crash course in Illustrator and Photoshop too! I have both software but I haven’t played with it yet.

11 Likes

Absolutely gorgeous! It doesn’t look like beginner work at all.

11 Likes

Every time I sit down to learn more about Illustrator and Photoshop I find myself distracted by something else on the computer that needs to be done.[quote=“rebecca, post:1, topic:5826”]
The engrave is printed on Proofgrade maple plywood.
[/quote]
This really an incredible engraving. Keep up the great work!

10 Likes

Awesome job!! You make it look easy😉

10 Likes