Pre Release: Exhaust Noise Experiment

An A-B comparison of vent hose type on noise levels outside

For those of you who followed my visit from @clone the other day, there was a discussion about the noise outside, along with many prior posts by me and others.

So on the debate went, and @dan suggested it was the type of hosing I had chosen. Now I have to say I am a big fan of solid metal tubing for fire resistance and sealing (with a dryer I care only about fire since a little humidity isn’t going to kill anyone). and the tube I bought was the expandable solid metal tubing with integrated elbows at both ends. This would provide a great seal and absolute fire protection (not that it should be an issue with a GF, but safety first).

But given that @dan has many, many glowforges on his skull shaped island, and I’m a scientist, the only solution was to do a controlled experiment.

Set up 2 basically identical engraves (well they are mirror images of each other on the shelf brackets). On the first I used my existing tubing, and for the second I used flexible dryer hose (the aluminized polyester).

I again remain a not-fan of the thin flexible stuff since there were pin holes in it, but using real aluminum duct tape found all of them I hope; but @dan is right, wow what a difference:

Here is the A-B comparison video (and to get your volume right, in the first one I am talking very loudly, and it’s about the volume of my shop vac at the beginning)

(in case you are wondering that was the leftover piece from the famous (infamous?) GF delivery shot. And yes the sun set between the 2 parts of the video…)

32 Likes

And yes, before someone mentions it, I have not power washed the deck yet this season, but given it was 38 this morning, seemed a tad chilly…

7 Likes

something weird is happening with the video I don’t hear anything for the50 sec and my head phones are on max then at the 50 sec mark the video freezes and then I can hear you talking

3 Likes