Pre-Release | Festive Light Strings (beginner project)

When I purchased a Glowforge, I was completely new to illustration design software. Because of this, it took me hours to figure out how to design the simplest things I wanted to print on a Glowforge. (And, I can’t wait until the Design Catalog is available!)

As a beginner, I am always so grateful when someone posts project files I can try. So, while this is a modest project, I thought I’d post a file of something I made (to pay forward the favor).

The idea is to personalize sting lights with acrylic disks that are easy to switch out. That way I don’t need to buy different strings for each festivity. Besides, it’s easier to store a stack of little disks than it is to store several light strings (and, as a bonus, disks don’t get tangled together).

If you’re a beginner (like me) and want to try this project, here’s what I used.

Materials:

Here is a blank SVG outline for cutting out disks. They will only fit the lights listed above. (It’s a snug fit by design.) I’ve tested the file in the GF App, it works.

Blank 1 inch disks for Ashland Shimmer Lights

To grab a copy of the SVG simply right click and save.

If you have limited software design skills, you can save this SVG and drag it into the GF App’s main design page. When it opens, you can move the disks around and “Add Artwork” (PNG, JPG, or GIF) to each little disk.

If you use Proofgrade, then once your design is ready, just select “Print.” This project uses Glowforge’s automatic settings.

The disks are only 1 inch in diameter. If someone wants larger disks, let me know and I can post another file with larger disks. (Or, maybe some folks want to post their own to share?)

If anyone happens to doll-up a set of stringed lights with acrylic, please post. It would be great to see what folks make!!

108 Likes

Those are incredibly cute! What a great idea to switch them out for the holidays too! :grinning:

9 Likes