Pre-release - Leather Adventures

Since getting a PRU, I’ve mentioned more than once that I’m experiencing a bit of a learning curve. For one thing, I’ve never used a laser before - and while this forum has taught me an awful lot about that, I still have a lot more to learn. Another factor is my lack of experience with design software. I often use Photoshop to edit product photos, and I’ve used Corel and Powerpoint in the (very distant) past to create beadwork tutorials - but I don’t have a strong background with graphic design programs. I’m old school, and have always drawn my bead and leatherwork patterns by hand - so I’m not only learning new software, I’m having to learn to see my projects and patterns differently (if that makes any sense).

I had so many ideas for all of the amazing things that I was going to create, and it has been more than a little humbling to realize that while I have a strong imagination, my laser skills are pretty freaking weak :wink: Even so, one thing has worked easily from the very start: cutting leather. That’s handy for me, as that is THE single biggest reason that I ordered this machine. I’ve been a leatherworker for over 25 years, but between a serious car accident and chronic pain issues, it’s becoming harder and harder for me to continue doing this work. I hoped that by having the :glowforge: take over the bulk of my cutting, it would alleviate some of the physical strain, and extend my ability to create for a few more years.

It made sense to start with smaller and simpler projects, so I began by translating patterns for some of the hair accessories that I make. @Jules was kind enough to let me guinea pig some of the tutorials that she and @jbv, @markevans36301, @cynd11, @jamesdhatch, @marmak3261 and so many others have been working on behind the scenes. These tutorials gave me a HUGE head start with learning illustrator - thank you all so much for that.