Pro development

A previous poster ranted about the lack of information about the pro unit and I somewhat agree with him since I am a pro purchaser. The question that comes to mind about the pro is, since so little information has been forthcoming about its development, there seems to be a possibility that the pro unit will be delayed. If that happens will the pro buyers be given the option of receiving a standard unit with a pro replacement at a later date?

3 Likes

I donā€™t think Glowforge has any plans to take back used and abused Basic units and resell them as refurbished units.

3 Likes

According to the last update from @dan , the Pro units are on still on schedule to ship out when the other units do.

Could that change? Of course it could, nothing is guaranteed time-wise. But if the physical units are ready, and all they are waiting on is some last minute software tweaks to bring them up to full Pro functionality, they will probably ship the Pro units out, and you would be able to use them to do all the things the Basic units do, you just wouldnā€™t have the image ā€œknittingā€ ability yet from the software for the larger pass-through items.

You would still receive a unit with more power than the Basics, so you could cut the thicker materials that fit in the bed, and run the machine for longer periods of time, with faster results.

Dan has also said before, that if someone decides they want to wait until everything is finished on the unit, they can take the option of delaying the shipment. (That option doesnā€™t make sense to me, since you could still use it as a more powerful Basic until they get the software finished up, but it is available.) :relaxed:

15 Likes

I think @dan has been pretty consistent that the fundamentals are shared and the Basic getting to ā€œdoneā€ takes care of most of the Pro except for the software.

Heā€™s also been confidently asserting that the Pro will ship at the same time as the Basic but the filter may come later.