Problems with alignment and cutting

Hi everyone. I am new to the Glowforge family. I was super excited to start making something. I had this awesome idea of making a football jersey for my daughter’s best friend but I have to admit, I am disappointed. The glowforge was never able to align it right and I tried like 3 times then I clicked on aligning it manually and well I aligned it wrong so now what suppose to be an awesome jersey now looks awful! What a waste of perfectly good wood, lol. The weird thing is too that it cut the left side perfectly but the other side it did not cut all the way thru. I found this strange. So not only did the bottom half is way off the right side is not even cut right. Not sure what I did wrong. jersey 2|640x480

Ugh! I tried a second time and it came out worse. It looks perfect on the screen but way off on the actual wood. I feel lied to. I saw a marketing video and it seemed so easy and friendly lol. This is too hard.

1 Like

HI,

I had the Same problem at first. what i did was played around with the settings to make sure it cut all the way through on all spots on the bed. I recommend you testing the wood and save the settings. as for a backup i write them down on my test pieces.

i also put some small pieces of wood under the right side of the crumb tray and made sure it was level. ever since i havent had a problem cutting anything.

i hope this help

1 Like

Also,

if you want to make sure that your design has printed out completely, run a second pass before removing from the glow-forge. that should help with the alignment issues.

2 Likes

Are you using the passthrough software? The laser wouldn’t lift up like that on a straight line, hence my confusion.

If you’re trying to manually line up two cuts you’re definitely going to want to run the Camera Calibration first. The camera can be off up to 1/4" per factory specs, but the calibration gets most folks sub-millimeter.