Proof Grade Substitute Suggestions

Hey guys! Looks like the Glowforge shop is all out of 12x20 black acrylic. Where can I find a comparable replacement?? Johnson’s plastics?

1 Like

Inventables is another option.

1 Like

Search “acrylic source” on the forum. Tons of posts.

1 Like

If you’re anywhere near the west coast of the US; TAP Plastics - they often have pieces close to that size in their scrap bin, which is ultra cheap too :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I’ve really been wanting to give them a try! I’m still new to lasering are the proofgrade acrylic settings pretty applicable to other acrylics?

My experience is pretty limited, but so far as I’ve found, yes.

1 Like

Generally, but they can secretly change from time to time without warning, in which case things may go sideways – so be sure to keep an eye on things (they changed the speed once on a setting I was blithely using, whereupon I nearly set fire to my Chemcast non-PG acrylic).

…also, remember that there’s a “community spreadsheet” Google doc out there (I’ve lost the link at the moment) that may be useful (TAP uses a lot of Chemcast-brand acrylic, thus that ends up in their scrap bin a lot, and the spreadsheet has a couple Chemcast entries IIRC).

1 Like

If you hunt this down, be very careful using the settings therein – entries have been made spanning multiple releases of power and speeds. It may be a good resource for you, but I’m much more wary of it that the official GF defaults. YMMV, of course. Test, test, and re-test!

2 Likes

We are about 1.5hr from there (Auburn location) but its just another great excuse to stop and eat at Ikeda’s on the way… Oh and think we will stop at DaisoJapan store too! Thanks for the info on TAP

I use a lot of acrylic from Johnson Plastics, TAP Plastics, Delvies and Inventables; in addition to the Proofgrade stuff. I’ve found that the Proofgrade settings work pretty consistently across them all.

1 Like

I purchased some black acrylic from an ebay vendor.