PRU peeps - please share your top tips for GF preparedness

I received a pre- release unit just over a week ago, and TBH, it kind of caught me with my pants down! :wink:

As someone who reads the forums regularly, Iā€™ve been bookmarking important tips and making mental notes on tables, vent set up, etc ā€¦ but let me tell you, that machine showed up on my doorstep very shortly after Ritaā€™s email!

Thankfully, I had a table down in the garage thatā€™ll work for now, and we cobbled together a vent set up pretty quickly after looking at what other forum members had done (thank you Beta & PRU peeps for sharing those insights here). Even so, these basic aspects of set up - and rearranging our office - took more time than I would have liked. It took us a couple of days to iron out these details, but set up really can be plug and play if youā€™ve got this stuff dialed in ahead of time.

I started learning AI a week or so before it arrived, so thatā€™s another detail that has slowed me down. Right now Iā€™m doing a crash course in Illustrator and I sure wish Iā€™d brushed up on my SW skills sooner. It would have been great to have a handful of designs waiting and ready to go. Donā€™t get me wrong, this machine is very intuitive and easy to use (and there are some good/simple starter projects to get you going) but if I had it to do over, I would have given myself a better running start in that regard.

Last but not least, I wish that Iā€™d stocked up on a few basic supplies in advance, rather than just ā€œbookmarking them for laterā€. Over the past few days, Iā€™ve purchased a digital caliper, masking, small magnets and a lightbox just to name a few.

So to summarize:

• have your table/vent/workspace plans in order
  • brush up on your design skills - if you need to learn a program, nowā€™s a good time to do that! If youā€™re already comfortable with a design program, get a few projects set up so that you can actualize them right away