Question about measuring material thickness

I’m going to cut an acrylic sheet I’ve never used before, so I’ll run a test on it first for engrave/cut. When I measure the thickness (with my accurate but not-precise calipers), it wavered between 0.06" and 0.07".

If I hold gentle pressure on the jaws, it reads the lesser number, but when I let go it reads the higher number. I’ve had this happen where I went with the lesser, and didn’t get a clean cut (had to run a 2nd cut). Should I just default to the highest reading from now on, or improve my technique? Or just take the average of the two? [I can be a slow learner some days.]

I take at least 3 sample readings on each new piece.

2 Likes

The cut is not that sensitive to focus height to where 0.01" will make a difference. Power and speed have much more of an impact on cut quality than focus height (within limits, obviously.) The auto focus is nowhere near that precise.

For thicker materials, you can focus much lower than the surface of the material for the “straightest” kerf, although most people just use surface height. For something as thin as you are using, it won’t make any difference.

4 Likes

Seconded on everything @eflyguy said.

2 Likes

For basic cutting, I find it better to let the GF autofocus. If you are concerned about a specific portion of your print, use the “Set Focus” tool (under the 3-dots icon in the toolbar) and click on the area of concern.

If you are going for a defocused engrave, score, or cut, the manual focus is the way to go, otherwise, I’d let the GF drive.

2 Likes

Heh, I go the other way here, I set my focus manually on almost everything. The UI is so confusing, it’s really hard to tell what it’s doing otherwise… can I override the auto focus height in cut settings? How do I know? What actual height is it doing?