Question for all makers

Hi everyone, I’m an Art Therapy graduate student working on my thesis. I’m studying makers and the psychological benefits they experience in order to expand our knowledge of the maker culture. My question to all makers is what do you feel are the benefits you get from making? Are there any skills you have gained in your preferred type of maker pursuit that you feel has helped you in other areas of your life or positively effected your overall wellbeing?

Thank you to everyone who answers.

Edit:
Thank you to everyone who has responded your input has been amazing and has really helped me with my research.

5 Likes

What I have realized is true in all life (not just this maker culture). The people that just take and never give back are a drain on the community. The community is strengthen by those that share, even if they don’t think their project is worth sharing. It is not up to you to determine your worth. You always have yourself. Share with others and let them be expanded by your experience. And if you do, there might be someone that had a similar experience and you can learn from them too.

The more you are involved in a community, the more likely that community will rally around you if you fall down or need assistance. Much more so than if you fall and demand a stranger to help you.

23 Likes

I would say some of the benefits of making, for me, include:

• A sense of accomplishment and a positive feeling that I spent time on an active, creative, pursuit. Even if the result was a pointless tchotchke, I was engaged in the effort, not just passively watching TV.
  • It provides a concrete reminder that I actually have some skill and talent. When I’m feeling incompetent and useless, I can look over at a really well-done project and feel some pride.
  • I enjoy giving hand-made things to people.
  • Learning to do something gives me an opportunity to teach others, opening up a whole additional hobby.