Random Line in my files. Please help

I am completely new to nodes and paths and everything that comes with vector files. I bought this SVG of Bob Marley and Naruto from Etsy and I am trying to engrave it onto acrylic for a LED lamp and onto a cutting board. It doesn’t happen all the time but sometimes there’s a random line that runs across it. I have read some forums and I tried to rasterize but I don’t know if I did it correctly. Can someone please help me?

Welcome to the forum.
If you purchased this file, it is doubtful that you have the rights to share it publicly. I suggest you take the file down, and people will still help you.

2 Likes

To rasterize it, save or export it as a PNG image, and then upload that PNG image to the Glowforge instead. There will no longer be any nodes, it’s just a photo now, so no chance of them being connected by a random line.

3 Likes

oh youre right, Im sorry. I wasnt thinking about that. @dklgood

Go to your post and click the pencil to edit the post or the three dots to delete it entirely.

2 Likes

I did it @dklgood

I did it the way the video showed me. I think I did it right but not 100% sure. Just wanted someone to take a look at the file but I guess Im out of luck

Ok. I snagged them before you pulled them down. Bob Marley is two items. The outline and the image itself. If you have Illustrator, ungroup the two. Then click on just the Bob part of it (you’ll know because parts of the red line will not be in the bounding box.) Go to object → Rasterize. I choose 300dpi myself, but whatever resolution you want should be ok. But make it higher than the LPI you choose to engrave with in the GFUI. Then you can save the file again and it should be good to go.

2 Likes

Same with the naruto file. But there doesn’t appear to be any cut line for those. Just click on it. Go to object-Rasterize. Save it and done.

1 Like