Rookie Mistakes

So I recently got a bulk order. My first reallllly big one. I’m pretty new to the laser/maker/crafter world. So I start printing these keychains today (first batch came out fine, all normal proof grade thick cherry ply settings) and my second print was awful. I mean scrap it and start over bad. I was boggled for a full half an hour before I thought to take calipers to the material. It was significantly thinner than proofgrade settings. Fixed the focus point and BAM. Perfection.

So tonight I went through with calipers and measured all 4 corners of every single piece of material I have so that I would know focus point before cutting and wrote it on the masking in sharpie. Just hoping my mistake will help someone else avoid murdering a perfectly innocent sheet of ply in the future.

If anyone else has any rookie mistakes to avoid I’d love to hear them.

*Note: I’m calling this a rookie mistake because it’s EVERYWHERE in the forums and I didn’t think about it beforehand.

14 Likes

Welcome to Laser Club! The one rule about Laser Club is we don’t talk about Laser Club! (Sorry, bad take on a good movie.) :smile:

Can’t even begin to list mine…too many and still counting. :wink:

6 Likes

Wait I thought it was “Tell EVERYONE about your Laser Club.” So that’s what i’ve been doing wrong … :joy:

7 Likes

That’s a +1, sensible, easy idea ! Thanks for it.
:upside_down_face:

5 Likes

Yes, just yesterday … I did a 2 hr 21 minute engrave … I always check before picking it up to make sure it cut through … but even the pull of the tape bumped the board. I was using bed pins and magnets. But, it apparently could move between the two pins. DRAT! Tried to realign, but, it was a no-go! ARGH!

I had failed to measure the proofgrade board!

3 Likes