Schools / people who use P.O.'s do you ever buy from glowforge? Makes it impossible for us

So I am a classroom teacher that uses glowforge, I want to buy the profucts from gowforge, ie. materials to cut. However they make it nearly impossible seeing that to use a P.O. you must buy an excessive amount of product ($2,000+). To me that is pretty annoying, glowforge is extremely kid friendly, it could be like how makerbot was in schools, however the P.O. thing is going to immediately make that a huge issue.

I could buy my acrylic from somewhere else, I just liked the non-smelly glowforge stuff that was made to be cut on it so I was sure that it was safe…

Not at all countering your annoyance, but the acrylic from GF isn’t any different from cast acrylic from anywhere else (it is NOT odor-free). You may find some with a plastic masking instead of the paper, but you can ask about that in advance. Basically, you can buy the same acrylic cheaper elsewhere.

2 Likes

The issue is they use FedEx for fulfillment and neither FedEx or UPS deliver to PO boxes. Why can’t they ship using USPS? I don’t know, but they don’t.

Problems and Support doubles as a place to post ideas about making glowforge better. If you make a new thread there they will at least see this is an issue for some users. In the meantime I guess you’ll just have to ship it to the principal’s house. I’m sure s/he won’t mind as it’s for the kids. :joy:

in this context, PO means Purchase Order, not Post Office.

6 Likes

Thanks. It makes a lot more sense now.

I’m used to PO = purchase order and P.O. = post office box. I just figured schools using PO Boxes was some new security thing.

2 Likes

Accepting purchase orders requires a company to effectively become a credit/loan company with the associated legal and administrative processes. It’s likely they are not set up to do that for small purchases like materials, as it is not representative of their customer base.