Stepper Motor Gantry Wheel Issues?

Hey GF!

I have been struggling with figuring out proper belt tightness time and time again but unsure if that has actually been the issue or not.
The designs I’ve been pulling out of the laser engraved lately have all looked ‘stretched’ or like it has been skipping. (Photo for reference)

I did a bit more looking around and it looks like maybe the grooves on the left x-axis gantry wheel may have some grooves that have melted? (Attached video for reference)

Trying to pinpoint it all and can attach more photos of the machine and the ‘gift of good measure’ in the next day or so.

I don’t keep the lower door fully open, I have a solution for that so debris still goes out of the rear with an in-line fan.

You think it may just be the belt?

My machine looks just as bad right now. I was a repair tech for long enough to be very leery of “deep-cleaning.” The important bits are clean; the rest is just aesthetics, and that could very well be the case here also. (As a matter of fact, you can see in the photo that the rails and top of the head are clean.) And don’t assume that just because the door is open in the photo, it was open while the job was running. The lid is up too, and you didn’t jump to any conclusions about that.

3 Likes

It’s definitely a mechanical issue. The simplest would be that the air assist is hitting your material during the print and pulling the head out of alignment. If that’s not it, then I think you’re on the right track looking at the belt / pulley wheel as the next likely suspect.

1 Like

@geek2nurse thank you for your positive help!
As for the air assist, the material only measures 1.10” and I have to use .5” to raise it to engrave-able height, so my caliper reads:
1.6” before engrave.

(Something to note: it only really skips on engraves, I do not really notice any skipping on scores or cuts)