Stroke Weight in AI, and stacked vector paths - assistance appreciated

My apologies if this has already been asked after searching around, I don’t see any quick and easy answer. I have also searched Jules tutorials (fabulous, btw).

I need to know what to set my stroke weight to in Illustrator. Took 2 days to trace out a map I am trying to score and cut for an Xmas gift, and there is a whole section of it, that shows up of in the Glowforge App, on the right side preview pane, but when I go to print it ignores it and doesn’t cut or score. It doesn’t even light up purple or orange to let me know it will take action on that section.

I am very new to Adobe Illustrator, so I’m positive there is something I’m not getting right. Currently, all of my strokes are set to 2pts, and I believe this is way to large of a value. I saw in another thread that the estimate of the GF kerf is .008" (I could have the units wrong on that).

Anther issue I think could be causing confusion is that I have many vector paths stacked up on top of each other. I didn’t think the GF would have a problem with this and simply score the path multiple times. Could this be causing an issue with GF ignoring these sections?

Any guidance that can be given would be appreciated.

2 Likes

Hi – welcome. When I set a cut line in AI, I set it to 0.01. This creates a perfect cut for me every time. As for the stacked paths – how does it show in the GF interface? Does it show each one as a seperate action?

The stroke width on a path that you want to cut or score actually doesn’t make any difference. You can set it to whatever thickness you are comfortable with. The laser is still going to create just one line, the width of the kerf (.008" is a good rough number, it varies a bit by material), and the path for the beam is going to follow down the actual path at the center of the stroke, no matter how thick the stroke is.