Technology Resurgence

Some of my coworkers and I were talking about our past and the various devices, software, etc… that we used back in school and such, and this came up…

This is a pen plotter:

I used something similar to this in high school. I graduated high school 21 years ago.

It is fascinating to me that the technology of the pen plotter is still being used today, and is seeing a resurgence in all of these maker-devices from 3d printers to Silhouette Cameo to our very own Glowforge.

I suppose the pen plotter technology never really went away, it just shifted to the industrial/manufacturing industry and is now being miniaturized as more people want these devices in their homes.

16 Likes

Wow. I haven’t seen one of those in forever. I do remember the carousel of pens and loved watching the robotic action of the head grabbing the right pen.

And people complain about the cost of toner and ink cartridges. They’d be appalled by those little pens and how fast they used up (or dried out despite the capping area in the carousel).
:slight_smile:

3 Likes

Many years ago I bought a pen plotter after telling my wife how cool it was going to be, in order to justify the price. I used it to draw a few things but for the most part it just set there. Now, whenever I start “talking up” something that I am planning to get, she still says, “is it going to be as cool as that plotter”:cold_sweat: I got a little of that when I ordered my Glowforge but after showing her the video on the website, she is onboard. :grinning:

9 Likes

I remember when my studio got a larger roll-feed pen plotter in the 90’s - couldn’t get over how random it seemed to move as it drew jumping from one corner to the next, but in the end, everything was perfect…

1 Like

The first computer in an Alabama high school classroom (1976):