This should be simple!

why???.svg.zip (2.0 KB)

all I want is for these two simple shapes to be joined into one to cut as one outline shape. I have made all the strokes paths, but no combination of combine or union seems to do the trick. there is still lines in the middle. It will glue them together, but not meld them. I know this is the simplest thing, and I’ve done this kind of thing successfully 50 times, but I just don’t understand what I’m doing wrong here and why it won’t work. I don’t get how sometimes it does it beautifully and then Im trying to do something this simple and I can’t make it happen. I must be missing something so simple but I don’t know what. call me frustrated, and you will be underestimating my current angst.

That file can’t be extracted because of the question marks in it. Re-zip and upload it without the question marks.

1 Like

why.svg.zip (2.0 KB)

sorry. Im new to zipping. didn’t realize it couldn’t handle ???

Just not in the file name…(no special characters). :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

noted!

you don’t mention what software you’re using. It is pretty simple in AI, you can just select the 2 objects, grab the Shape Builder tool and join them easily.

why.zip (923 Bytes)

why

2 Likes

sorry, I’m using inkscape, and this SHOULD be easy in inkscape too. that’s why i’m so frustrated it doesn’t seem to be working

Something going on in the file, I can’t make it weld either. How did you create the rectangles?

first I used the rectangle tool and it wouldn’t work… then I traced it with the bezier tool to see if that would work, and I think that is what is in the file I sent you. but I tried both ways, and neither worked.

the long rectangle was already in a file Im using so I don’t know how that was created.

Okay, try this:

1. Draw out the two rectangles using the rectangle tool.
  2. Select them and Path > Object to Path
  3. With both still selected choose Path > Union
1 Like