Travel Retro gaming system

Been lurking for awhile, but this is my first project post to put up. I’m always amazed at what all of you are making, it’s great for coming up with new ideas!

I’ve been playing around with Raspberry Pi computers for a few years (I think I have 7 of them now), and wanted to make a modular pi ‘thing’ with screen and speakers. My goal was for everything to be modular, no soldering, and that I could reuse the parts as I iterate design ideas.

This is prototype number 1! I drew all the pieces in Draftsight, including the tabs. I could have used an online template, but was worried that I’d get complacent and that the box ultimately wouldn’t work. It takes a lot longer to draw them, but was a good exercise to go through.

Inside the box is a tray thing that the computer and power boards are bolted to. The extra holes are for cable management, and then the battery sits below in the box. I can lift out the whole board and disconnect all the cables whenever I need to. You can also see two magnets in the front to keep the box shut. In the back I designed two cuts where you could route cables through the back. It was a good idea, but I didn’t make them big enough and the mounting bolt for the screen got in the way. I ended up using a dremel to cut them bigger so everything would fit.

The inner board taken out and cables disconnected.

In the front you can see the other 2 magnets that keep the box closed. I put clear tape on the inside to hold them in place, but they friction fit nicely. The hole I cut for the screen was a tiny bit too small, so there was a lot of filing to do to get it to fit.

A closeup of the hinge. I got the idea from [Gallery - Boxes.py]. It’s their integrated hinge option. It lays nice and flat, and is pretty easy to build. No glue or anything. You can also see my dremel hatchet job in the back… I ran out of 20mm long bolts, so the screen is only held in place by 2 of them for now.