Treating raw wood with anything before or after cutting?

I’m a newbie to owning a GF (since September) but have Silhouette design/Photoshop and some woodworking experience. I’ve purchased PG material as well as non PG 1/8" BB ply(from Ocooch), since GF doesn’t carry BB. Have my transfer tape as well, I cover both sides of the wood before cutting or engraving. What is your best technique to avoid burnt marks on the the wood, other than transfer tape? I got pretty decent results from putting 3-layers of Poly on BB ply (with a brush), however it takes a long time to dry (especially as the weather gets cooler). And then of course, once engraved, the engraved part is still ‘raw wood’. Do you put any protective finish on your raw, non PG wood before or after engraving/cutting? If so, what do you use? What should be avoided? Looked through the forums some but didn’t seem to find anything relating to my dilemma. I am planning on making some engraved Christmas ornaments. Thank you all for your help!

1 Like

Yeah, searching the forum can be tricky sometimes. it’s not always the best at interpreting what you mean, and it requires exact phrasing and no typos. The short answer is that most paints and varnish styles are just fine. The longer answer is that you need to be sure that your ventilation setup is very good (it should be anyway) so you don’t breathe any fumes/smoke, and that you should probably let almost all finishes fully dry first.

Here’s some general info on laser safety of materials… check out #4:

Then you might want to google for stuff like this using the site: trick. So search google for “paint before lasering site:community.glowforge.com”. This limits your results to just be from the forum (community.glowforge.com).

https://www.google.com/search?q=paint+before+lasering+site%3Acommunity.glowforge.com