Ugh, this must be what cavemen felt like

I needed a desktop stand for my new itty bitty ukulele. I mocked one up on the computer… then I remembered I don’t have my glowforge yet so I ended up making it out of matboard using a razor blade and a ruler like some sort of commoner.

sigh
How many days until December?

40 Likes

That cracked me up! But oh, so true. Such a lowly life we are leading while waiting…:smiley:

10 Likes

I like your design. It looks like it will be strong and could fit lots of different size instruments.:grinning:

5 Likes

What?! You rock the uke? Me too, but I’d say I more mock the uke. I’m not very good.

I’m loving the cardboard stand. Will you make it in wood in later? (I might need to “borrow” the plans from you.) If you make something in acrylic, you can light it up. Then your uke would get the star treatment it deserves.

8 Likes

I’m right there with you. I just got it recently, so I’m still learning the basics. I bought it based entirely on a friend’s recommendation, which may have been entirely fueled by the novelty of how ridiculously small it is in my hands.

32 Likes

Don’t knock paste board for prototyping. Get the design right and you can have one cut from your choice of materials a few minutes after receiving your gf.

6 Likes

Oh, I’m not knocking the material. GF or not, I do plenty of prototyping with matboard, since I have a small mountain of it. It’s having to cut things by hand all inefficient-like that I could do without. @dan and his magical box of wonder have already spoiled me and I haven’t even gotten to press the big button yet.

8 Likes

What?! You totally just made my night. Cutest mini-uke ever. I think I have the same tuner.

You might want to consider getting one of the 3-chord song books (if you haven’t already). You’ll be a pro in no time!

Once I learn 50 songs, I am going to get a banjolele (most likely this one). They don’t call it “goodtime” for nothing.

Thanks again!!

4 Likes