Well, I am learning there is alot I dont know!

Hello all,
My GF has finally arrived! I had all of the grand plans on how I was going to be able to just drag in an image and engrave it on some wood and it was going to be a piece of cake! I couldn’t be more wrong! While I have figured out how to search for a design and place it in the GF app and cut it out thats pretty much it. I was hoping this would be like using a toaster :slight_smile:

Here is what I am currently trying to figure out. I have an image that I sent myself from work as a PDF (someone misspelled or… not me :slight_smile: ). Swim of Die Logo.pdf (108.1 KB)

What I am trying to figure out is how I can get rid of the words in the image and engrave and cutout this image onto a piece of wood.

I realize to many of you this is probably super simple but I have zero experience with any drawing programs like inkscape or photoshop. I have a slight familiarity with fusion 360 for making 3D printable stuff but I know there is alot I don’t know how to use on that program also!

So, where is my best starting point? I have been watching dozens of tutorials on youtube for inkscape and my brain is starting to hurt.

Sorry for the completely newbie questions, I could have been studying this stuff for the past 2 years but I am one of those types that likes to learn as they go…

Thanks everyone!

7 Likes

I love good YouTube videos but like having a baby, you have to play. If the PDF is vector this will be easy if it is raster it should not be too hard either. If there are not any great answers by the time I get home I’ll mess around with it then.

Hey @helifrek, glad you got yours!

Got a bunch of getting started tutorials in the Matrix…look at the Table of Contents in the Tips and Tricks section of the forum.

It’s just about toaster easy with a little reading. :wink:

4 Likes