What software is everyone using?

Hey all, less than a day in and I can’t really find anything I can use that I like. Inkscape was never my thing and illustrator is just ridiculous with their annual plan.

I’d prefer to work on my Mac but can certainly use my iPad for designs as well.

Really just looking for drag and drop DTP or something similar to design business card type things etc.

Thanks!

2 Likes

I’m a newbie and will be watching this thread.

2 Likes

Affinity Designer is inexpensive and works well on both Mac and iPad. I find it more user friendly than Inkscape, but still pretty powerful, and it’s getting better with each update. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Just take the time to get to know inkscape. It’s not that hard and you can do all you’d need to with it.

It’s worth the time to learn it.

6 Likes

I use Silhouette Studio Business. I have this BC I have a Silhouette. My idea is focus on one application that works for both.

That said, If it were not the case, I would focus on Inkscape as that is a default around here and your likely able to get some really clear and quick help.

Unless its technically constrained, I bet it meets your needs well.

I do however use Vectornator on my ipad when I want a vector image from that platform.

2 Likes

Technically you could design business cards in Word (or Google Docs if you want truly free) and output a PDF to send to GF.

4 Likes

I second Affinity Designer

3 Likes

Inkscape and Gimp.

2 Likes

Some great mentions here. I would recommend doing a YouTube search for videos on using the various ones. Like Inkscape … there are so many very helpful videos out there. A quick search, watch a couple of minutes, and you have your answer to what you’re trying to do.

2 Likes

I use Illustrator. It’s definitely been a learning curve though!

1 Like