Why does my 121k jpeg take so long to upload?

This is my first attempt to upload a jpeg. Perhaps I am doing something wrong? Hit the upload button and selected my file (made in photoshop). Got an “uploading” dialogue box that never seems to complete. That size file should take seconds…

Drop the file here and one of us will check it for you.

1 Like

Might be a wifi issue. The machine is very picky about a stable strong source. Search on here to find many stories about that.

1 Like

Sometimes, when I have a file that seems to be stuck loading, I cancel the print, and then pick the file again and it loads right up. It seems to happen alot (to me, anyway) and this has worked every single time.
Your mileage may vary.
(My Glowforge is about 8, unobstructed feet away from my router)

1 Like

The image is not being uploaded to the machine, but to Glowforge’s servers in Google Cloud Platform, so your Glowforge’s wifi is not at issue here. All that gets sent to the Glowforge is the movement plan the servers calculate after you hit “print”, several steps separated from uploading an image to the app. Restart your browser, or try it in another browser.

2 Likes

Interesting… I tried to upload it to you as a response, and it just said “processing…” forever. never completed the upload. I can open the file in preview, and I can email it to myself just fine. Is there something going on with the glowforge server?

This forum is hosted by a totally different company (Discourse) than the GF app (Google). The problem appears to be your browser.

1 Like

Fair enough. I will try Firefox

Depending on many things a 121k Jpeg could be considerably larger. I have also seen more than a few times when the transfer did not complete so it never comes to an end. I would bring it up in a raster software and re-export it as a png and that will likely heal such issues.

Hmmmm. Safari failed, but Firefox succeeded???