1.3k lpi

We’ve talked about how we usually demo in “draft” mode at fairly low resolution (225 lines per inch) - I just printed our logo at max vertical resolution, 1.3k lines per inch, and thought you might like the see the results.

There’s a lot more improvement coming from @rachael’s work (you can see some subtle imperfections if you stare at it under magnification) but it’s pretty solid.

51 Likes

Lookin’ good!

Now that’s just lovely. It seems logically that there is a higher risk of burning at the higher resolution–is that the case? Being a laser newbie, I wouldn’t know. But if so I would expect to be more vigilant at high resolution.

3 Likes

Looking much, much better. Given that the imperfections are linear across the inset “glowforge” I assume that part was done in raster mode. Looks like a relative position missed step but am sure that will be solved with time. I am relieved. Wasn’t going to repost this blowup from yesterday’s twitter feed (@SiemnyKiro7) because was sure it would cause forum grief. Apparently it is at the lower 225 resolution. But now that you have posted a much improved baseline.

12 Likes

That looks great!

1 Like

Love them both…are they both rastered? I ask cuz I’m a newbie to all this laser stuff.

3 Likes

Wow. (yeah, the arcs have one shift to them, but it’s smaller than what’s happening to the edges because of imperfections in the ply.)

So just a clarification: when you say “1.3k lpi” you mean 1300 raster lines per inch? (I ask because part of my youth was spent in the photographic world, where lines per inch meant being able to distinguish a series of parallel lines. And – to a first approximation – being able to distinguish N lines per inch in that sense required 2N+1 pixels/raster lines per inch.)

Ooh, now I am wondering: do people laser-etch intaglio/gravure plates? Or is that incredible stupid?

3 Likes