A fascinating Netflix documentary

Just watched a fascinating and revealing Netflix documentary called “Print the Legend”…the inside goods on the 3D printer revolution…focusing mostly on MakerBot, but also on other companies. Of course, our own Glowforge was still a twinkle in Dan’s eye, but this film really gave some great insight into how startups and Kickstarter companies function, and gave to me, a complete novice in this area, some great things to think about. Part of this will resonate with all that Dan and his crew are up against and will probably enlighten some of ‘us who wait’. I know it did that for me.

3 Likes

I saw that a while before Glowforge and had forgot about. I’ll have to give it another watch. It was an excellent movie!

Fascinating stuff. Bre and Max are friends, and I’ll say that while they have each made their share of mistakes (and would both say as much), the movie took some liberties in how they edited and events that do not reflect well on them.

3 Likes

Oh…and one other facet of this film was the focus also on an anarchist, his printing of 3D weapons, and his run-in with the US government. Especially in light of so many recent mass shootings, this was particularly disturbing.

1 Like

Watching now…thanks!

I might also suggest Slingshot. I just finished watching at the suggestion of my parents and found it quite stimulating. It’s available on Netflix streaming as well.

1 Like

The printed gun and “selective word choices” to make Bre out as an unwitting bad guy I chalk up to trying to sensationalize for greater viewing numbers.

As long as you strip out the distortion lens it seems to have some interesting behind the scenes tidbits.

(Man, forums don’t like me lately. Second post I have noticed did not actually post)

I didn’t really get that take on the gun part. I did not view Bre as a bad guy…either wittingly or unwittingly. There’s always going to be someone who can take a good thing and make something bad with it.

1 Like