Acrylic & Inkscape Related Questions

Hello Glowforge owners forum! This is my first post so please tell me if it is in the wrong category, has the wrong tag(s), etc. To preface this, when I use the word “acrylic” I mean acrylic with a core color and a cap color(that will be engraved through to expose the core color). I am also fairly new to the Glowforge and laser cutters and engravers in general so feel free to mention any obvious things that I may have forgotten.

My questions are as follows:

Are there any recommended vendors(or specific products) for acrylic sheets? I have found several and am currently using Rowmark LaserGloss Exterior Red/White Engraving Plastic) but would like to know if there are any other materials and vendors(so I do not have to buy and test them myself).

How do I avoid dust getting caught in non-proofgrade materials with a different core color(if that doesn’t make a difference please let me know) like (Rowmark LaserGloss Exterior Red/White Engraving Plastic). I have heard that masking can help with this, if so are there any vendors that sell acrylic with masking or is there a specific vendor for masking material?

I have been engraving and cutting acrylic and the material tends to come out sticky/pasty but I can’t decrease the power without getting a lower quality engrave or cut. Does masking help with this or is there a special material I should buy or a procedure that I need to do to stop this.

When I upload an .svg file from Inkscape there are always different steps created from the one file(for example with a sign the text and the outline are different steps) this makes the print take twice as long as it would if they were all in the same step. Is there a way to import one .svg file as one step or merge steps?

Welcome to the forum.