Anodized aluminum license plate help plz

Hello,
I’m new to the glowforge and hoping to get some insight…
I engraved one black anodized aluminum license plate and it turned out great. Now my brothers want matching ones! Lol
I am going to attempt to do all three at the same time. I’ve got them in place and the vectors placed where I want them [ ||| ]… But when I manually tried to set the focus, the fisheye camera moved the placement on the outer two… Should I leave everything where it is and go ahead and press start or should I adjust the vector location on the screen so that it looks right?
Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

I would suggest doing one at a time.

Put some thick blue painter’s tape or masking tape over the part of the plate you want to engrave. Put the plate in the machine and tape or pin it down so it can’t move.

Click “set focus” then on your plate, and make sure the red dot lands on your plate. Set the engrave power to 1 and start the job. See if it’s engraving exactly where you want it to be on the tape. That will give you confidence in the location the engrave will occur regardless of accuracy of the camera.

You can then pause, cancel the job, and remove the tape without moving the design or the plate. Set the settings back to what you normally use to engrave anodized aluminum, “set focus” again, and run the engrave. So long as you don’t move the design on your screen, it’ll engrave in the same location in the real world the second time, regardless of what the camera shows.

The camera image is going to be less accurate the further you get from the center of the picture. It’s not worth messing up two license plates in order to save a few minutes of setup time between them, IMO.

Good luck!

P.S. Someone will come and move this thread out of the Problems and Support forum. Posting here opens a support ticket with Glowforge staff, and they can’t provide help for non-proofgrade materials and settings.

7 Likes