Anywhere else to buy the 1/8" draftboard?

I am a teacher and the pricing on the draftboard would be too expensive for my 400+ students.

I have looked at blick hardboards: https://www.dickblick.com/products/hardboard-panels/?clickTracking=true&wmcp=pla&wmcid=items&wmckw=14945-1066&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIt87ItLKL3wIVmoqzCh1L3wfaEAQYASABEgIoTPD_BwE

Cant get a confirmation that they dont use formaldehyde. The support person said it was laser safe…

I am very paranoid and in a school so i want to make sure that the laser isnt off gassing horrible fumes. But like i said i need a cheaper substrate we can paint thats somewhat sturdy and still safe.

1 Like

Baltic birch might be a cheaper option? A forum search should bring up lots of good online sources – I get it at a local lumber yard.

Can’t blame you for looking for a more economical source. Property vented a bit of formaldehyde would not be a problem, what could be is that some hardboard is vary hard to cut. If it takes twice as long,your advantage is shoot.

I got hardboard at home depot. $4 for a 4x8 sheet of it. Super inexpensive. I cut them down for the glowforge.

It cuts fine with most the hardwood settings… I cut at about speed 140, full power. No problem.

Good luck!

7 Likes

I paid $12 for a 4’ by 8’ sheet of 1/8" particle board (identical to medium draftboard, no masking) at Windsor Plywood. They did not have it in stock but it was available for pickup the next day. Windsor stores are mostly in Washington and Western Canada but I assume most cities have a similar plywood store. You will need to cut it to GF sizes.

1 Like

Woodpeckers on Amazon has baltic birch 1/8" ply, and you can buy it from them in 12"x12" pieces which is great if you can’t process the wood from a huge sheet of material.