August 2023 Update

I hate keeping secrets. So it was a DOOZY to keep my mouth shut for the Aura launch! (check out July’s post if you missed that announcement.) Sitting on this amazing new product was agony. But finally it’s here, so I can share an anecdote I’ve been sitting on for about 9 months.

Last Thanksgiving, I brought my Glowforge Aura to an Airbnb on the Oregon coast to a test print (well, actually, a lot of test prints). After I got over my excitement about how portable this craft laser is (it fit in the car no problem even with two kids, a guinea pig, and all of our luggage), I printed up a storm — engraving notebook covers, cutting out puzzles, and taking requests from my family for custom earrings, keychains…you get the idea.

Look, it’s no match for a Glowforge Basic, Plus, or Pro. Those printers - our performance line - are 10x-12x faster than an Aura. They print on material twice as big, and twice as thick. They’re big and fast and amazing

But this is light, adorable, and less than $1200. It’s got a charm that’s like nothing I’ve ever used before.

And ever since thanksgiving, I was thinking about how much I wanted to share Glowforge Aura with all of you.

Cut to 9 months later: it’s July 25th, Glowforge Aura launch day. I was SO excited to finally get to actually talk about this thing we’ve been working on for so long! I even got an “aurange” colored t-shirt to customize and wear to the office. Unfortunately, this is where my excitement got the better of me.

I printed my launch day shirt with our Proofgrade Eco-Iron On, and completely forgot to mirror my design. Iron-on gets reflected when you apply it, so that resulted in a backwards image and a lot of laughs from my colleagues. In fact, the marketing team was so amused with my fail, that they insisted I appear in my first-ever TikTok video showcasing my backwards shirt.