Baltic Birch Staining Tips

I’m very new to woodworking and staining. I got some 3mm B/BB Baltic Birch from a local supplier and would like to use it for a multilayered project with different stain colors.

I got this cabernet colored Varathane stain and I love it on the unsanded birch, but it comes out a lot lighter on sanded wood with tons of black lines showing.

Applying multiple coats (before and after sanding) doesn’t really change the color of the sanded sections. (Also, I should note that 240 grit gives almost identical results to the 400 grit).

Is there a way to get that rich purple color of the unsanded version but have the smooth, professional finish of the 400 or 800 grit?

Thanks!

1 Like

Depending on what you are planning to do with it, you could follow up with a clear coat like polyurethane.

2 Likes

I’m not the expert in sanding for sure! I do have a couple of testing things to try though

1. Not sure if “Applying multiple coats (before and after sanding)” includes sanding and cleaning prior to even the first coat - if not, that’d be the first thing I’d try
  2. Adding a top coat may bring out the colour more - something as simple as tung oil, or a full on lacquer tends to bring out the colour of the wood.
  3. The lines you’re talking about are the natural wood grain your stain is trying to bring out…you may want more of a dye than a stain if you want to hide the grain - or fall in love with the grain (which is what I do)
2 Likes

I use 60 grit sandpaper on my 3mm Baltic Birch.

1. Before it goes into the GF I sand it with 60 grit I also use a electric sander.
  2. After the GF I wipe the wood down with a tack cloth.
  3. I apply 2 coats of stain working with the grain of the wood.
  4. 2-3 days later I sand with 1200 grit.
  5. Airbrush a clear top coat. Sand again with 1200 Grit and apply 2nd top coat.

When finished all of my projects are as smooth as glass.

8 Likes