Best pdf software

Just wondering what the best pdf creation software is out there. Just received the GF and am trying to figure out which software is the best. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best is a pretty subjective term.

What operating system?

Windows 10

@hansepe is right, it’s very subjective.

for sure, adobe illustrator is the choice of most professional designers, since we’re fairly tied to the full adobe suite. but it’s also by far the most expensive choice.

lots of others here use inkscape and affinity designer. inkscape is free (i think?) and AD has a minimal cost.

there are others out there. it really depends on your budget and how you like to work. for pure use, i am an illustrator guy. but i’m already using it at work and already paying for a home license for the full suite.

1 Like

Agree with the above. Inkscape is free - I use that, and Gimp for raster editing.

I am wondering, however, why you want to use PDF.

2 Likes

Ok thank you very much. We are new to this and saw many of the files in pdf form and wasn’t sure if this was the correct route to take. Trying to do all of the homework before diving into it.

Nothing wrong with PDF but SVG is the most common for vector design work. All of the recommended apps can save as PDF, but it’s not their “native” format.

2 Likes

Many folks swear by using PDF for GF. Never understood why, except maybe they don’t have to learn a new program. Have exclusively used Inkscape SVGs for more than two years. Maybe just my preference.

1 Like