Bringing an imported .SVG to "front"

Greeting from a new forge user! - I am still learning, and getting the hang of it all, my one big issue is ‘layers’ in the glowforge web program, I imported a bunch of lines, and set power to them, but they always hide (ignore is NOT ON) when I do the print / burn, even though I see them in preview

any ideas?

Thanks Jonathan (macgeek)

1 Like

Got a screenshot of your GF screen?

Could be a few things, screenshot might help narrow it down.

(Also welcome!)

4 Likes

There aren’t really any layers in the Glowforge app…just steps in the job. If you have an engraved area and put lines in the same place, the engraving will obliterate the lines regardless of whether it comes before or after.

An image of your artwork would probably help us be more specific, though!

2 Likes

helpful high five!

2 Likes

2 Likes

you can see my many (lame) attempts to add lines, and speaking of lines, anyway to DELETE ignored objects out of the file???

This is the original, what I was basing my stuff on.

1 Like

To delete something, just select it and hit “delete.”

All the lines I see in your GF app are set to ignore. Which ones are you trying to get to show up?

2 Likes

the three lines, I created in illustrator. (top box)
you can delete a whole ‘storyboard’ but you can’t delete objects in the ‘storyboard’ only set them to ‘ignore’

1 Like

My guess is that they’re off screen somewhere. Zoom way out and see if they’re way off to the side. A quick way to tell is to zoom out and do “control-A” to select all (command-A on a mac). The resulting selection rectangle will let you easily tell where all your stuff is.

Also you have a typo in “ambassador”.

5 Likes