Cheap, Safe, STRAIGHT cutting material?

So I am a classroom teacher, we have to be very careful about fumes and smells in school. I am wanting a cheap, safe AND STRAIGHT material to cut for pretty much all my projects. Some would be painted etc.

The draftboard is perfect, however way to expensive. I have about 500 students. I looked at chipboard that was like 1-2 dollars per 12 x 12" size, which would be amazing, however not sure on safety of lasercutting that.

Is there a material that is straight and very safe to cut thats cheap?

Does cutting all materials pretty much expose us to health risks? For instance I was cutting acrylic, which was great at first, however then the fumes with windows open were just so overpowering. IT seemed to be after I made the cut, fine while i was cutting etc.

I am just very paranoid about fumes and risks… Do I need to seal my glowforge more to eleminate etc. Any good mtl suggestions?

Is MDF super bad to lasercut?

1 Like

Chipboard is laser safe as a rule. You should check the MSDS to be 100% sure.

Heavy paper stocks are safe too, poster boards, mat boards, etc.

But to get back to “safe”. Fundamentally you’re applying a laser to flammable, organic materials. There is a certain amount of risk no matter what. I can start a fire with almost any material if I use the wrong settings or a poorly-designed SVG.

Cardboard is a perfect example. It will catch on fire if you do the wrong things to it, but if handled correctly, it’s not very risky at all. I use it as a jig material all the time, it cuts easily and quickly.

5 Likes

Anything organic that you cut is going to smell a little. But you might want to try engraving on slate or cheap ceramic tile from Lowe’s and Home Depot. There is no smell, although there is a slight amount of dust, so venting is still necessary. And once the tiles have been engraved, the kids can color them with Sharpie markers.